LAWorld started as a tool for  client members in order to provide their existing clients with quality legal advice in unfamiliar jurisdictions; it quickly developed into a network of medium sized firms with a common approach and ethos, referring to each other clients and projects and sharing information about local legal developments and latest trends and practices.

LAWorld is now an international recognized network in its own right, LAWorld Ltd is a registered company in the UK and in order to facilitate overall administration and to develop marketing initiatives for the network, the network has an Executive Office based in Central Europe.


Client Members meet  during an Annual General Meeting held each year for three days in a different area and may confront themselves with other firms in Regional Meetings held within their geographical area at least twice a year.

LAWorld encourages the growth of young lawyers both within each firm and within the network  with focused meetings and training sessions. A trainee exchange program facilitates cultural exchange, integration and seamless communication among firms.

The Executive Committee is the executive body of LAWorld.

The Committee is comprised of one representative from four geographical areas (Europe/Middle East/Africa; North America; Latin America; and Asia Pacific), a Chair, the Treasurer and the Immediate Past Chair.

Committee client members are elected by LAWorld client member firms from their respective region, present at their Regional Meeting held at the Annual General Meeting. The Chair and Treasurer are elected by the Annual General Meeting.

The term of office of each Executive Committee client member is two years, although each client member may stand for re-election for further two years. The term of office of the Chair is two years and after the two years, the Chair will remain on the Committee for one further year as immediate Past Chair.

Executive Committee 2020-2022

Executive Committee Chair:
Tony Pointon
Pointon Partners
Melbourne, Australia

Immediate Past Chair:
Michael Bader
Berne, Switzerland

Executive Committee Members:

Eagle Yang
Zhonghau Law Firm
Chongqing, China

Europe/Middle East/Africa:
Stephan Schwilden
Act Legal
Frankfurt-am-Main, Germany

Latin America:
Ernesto Gamboa
Gamboa Abogados
Bogotá, Colombia

North America:
Andy Lustigman
Olshan Frome Wolosky
New York, USA

Zeynep Özkan
Özkan Law Office
Istanbul, Turkey

Executive Director:
Jacqui Nash